Watch and Pray

This simple blog is devoted to the greatest privilege that man has ever been given; PRAYER.

To Meditate on a Prayer

20130810-074100.jpg

I am not into just repeating prayers in a parrot like manner, for when I do so my thoughts aren’t in tuned with my prayers and I end up thinking of my daily stresses, and I lose track of what I am repeating.

However, besides meditating on God’s Word, I have found some prayers that have much impact and worth meditating on or even memorizing. One of the prayers that I really enjoy reading and meditating on is the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi. To meditate and personalize each line into your prayer is beautiful, and it reminds us of different ways of devoting our hearts and actions to God.

What do you meditate on? The Our Father? Scripture? Prayers? Please share.

Rev. Phil

Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury,pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen

Here’s a beautiful YouTube video of the prayer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2013 by in Rev. Phillip Martinez and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 8,628 hits
