Watch and Pray

This simple blog is devoted to the greatest privilege that man has ever been given; PRAYER.

In What Position Do I Pray?

20130416-001121.jpg

Just as there are various places to pray, there are also a variety of postures for prayer. As I began to travel the nations, I discovered that within many denominations, tradition often dictates the way people position their bodies for prayer. For example, when I first moved to Germany, I noticed that people would not sit while praying. They believed sitting was disrespectful to God. I have since come to realize that many nations are influenced by church traditions that have similar standards, such as kneeling or standing.

Because I grew up with a liturgical background. I too used to believe that I could only pray if I knelt. Although I still enjoy kneeling at times. I have since discovered that worship can encompass many physical positions. Our physical position should be a response to the leading of the Holy Spirit. Usually when we are caught up in ministering to the Lord, we will just naturally respond outwardly to the inward position of our hearts before God.

The following are some examples of positions listed in the Bible. By practicing the style that you feel least comfortable with, you can experience a breakthrough that can change your life.
Here are some examples listed in the Bible:

20130416-000019.jpg

20130416-000506.jpg

Whether you sit, stand, bow or kneel, it is the position of your heart that matters most. Whatever you do, do it as unto the Lord and always be careful not to make a ritual out of your worship to God.

If Jesus were you today, how would He live His life through you? The right response to that question will make all that you do His answered prayer.

Note
1. John L Mason, An Enemy Called Average (Tulsa. Okla.: Harrison House. 1990). p. 20.

Excerpt from Chapter 2 (Teach me to pray) of “Becoming a Prayer Warrior” by Elizabeth Alves

2 comments on “In What Position Do I Pray?

  1. Pingback: Just A Closer Walk With Thee

  2. Shelly
    August 5, 2016

    Thank you for sharing 😀 Very insightful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2013 by in Excerpt from Becoming a Prayer Warrior and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 8,426 hits
