Watch and Pray

This simple blog is devoted to the greatest privilege that man has ever been given; PRAYER.

Where do I pray?

20130415-082152.jpg

Just as some work environments are more productive than others, the place where we pray can make a difference. Ask the Lord to show you where He wants to meet with you. If you have a specific place where you go to meet with Him, your prayer time will be more effective. Some people have a special chair or a particular room where they pray daily. Many men have told me they like to pray outside. A friend who is a pastor in Holland took me to a tree where he spends his prayer time every morning. The tree is so enormous that it would take three people to wrap their arms around it, so the tree provides protection from the elements. My friend said that no matter what the weather is like, he meets God at the tree every morning.

When I first began to hear the Holy Spirit speak to me, I was in the bathtub. It was such a powerful experience that I thought I had to be in the tub to hear Him. I remember feeling anxious and agitated if I couldn’t take a bath every time I had a problem or a question. I guess you could say God was “cleaning up my act”!

Today I meet with God in a little prayer house on the property of our ministry, Intercessors International. It is a place where I am not easily distracted. There I have a chair that I feel is my holy place with God.

The Bible gives many examples of places to pray. And the place becomes sacred when you remove yourself from the world and enter into His presence: And when you pray, you are not to be as the hypocrites; for they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and on the street corners, in order to be seen by men. Truly I say to you, they have their reward in full. But you, when you pray, go into your inner room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in secret, and your Father who sees in secret will repay you (Matt 6:5,6). “Secret” means “concealed from public view or from general knowledge; operating in a hidden or confidential manner.”

The “inner room,” or inner chamber, was usually an upper story built on the roof of a house. It was strategically located on the city walls facing or overlooking the city gate. The chamber could be used as a watchtower to spot the enemy or observe a victory parade. It was also a high place for an altar and a place of prayer.

When you participate in inner chamber prayer, the Word states that the Father will reward you openly. However, you do not have to be in an inner room to be in communion with the Lord. You can be in a park, on a train, driving on the highway or just about anywhere with others all around you when the Holy Spirit nudges you to pray. While driving in traffic, you can practice “intersection intercession.”
The Bible mentions many places people prayed, but the following are a few referred to in the New Testament:

Places Scripture
Upper room Acts 1:13,14
House Acts 10:30; 12:5-17
By a river Acts 16:13
On a beach Acts 21:5
Wilderness Luke 5:16
Lonely place Mark 1:35; Luke 4:42
Mountains Matthew 14:23; Mark 6:46; Luke 5:16;6:12; 9:28; John 6:15
Alone Matthew 6:6; 26:39; Mark 6:46;14:32-42; Luke 6:12; 9:18; 22:41

Even though it’s important to set aside a scheduled time and place to be alone for prayer, be on prayer alert at all times because the Holy Spirit may quicken you to a special concern that needs immediate prayer, regardless of where you are.

Excerpt from Chapter 2 (Teach me to pray) of “Becoming a Prayer Warrior” by Elizabeth Alves

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2013 by in Excerpt from Becoming a Prayer Warrior and tagged .

Blog Stats

  • 8,773 hits
